Spring Break Is Finally Here for WIU Students!

Well as this week winds to an end, Western students are heading in all different directions to spend a week away from university life.  Whether they are headed home, or off on a vacation for the week, students are ready to kick off Spring Break!

The week building up to Spring Break is always a struggle.  Students are not exactly patient as they want to get out of town and have some relaxation time.  On the flip side, we have been preparing for midterms and big exams because Spring Break marks the end of the first 8 weeks of the semester. My friends and I have been having our own countdown to remind each other… “3 more days, 2 more days, 1 more day!”

 “It will be nice to have a home cooked meal; that is the best part about going home,” says WIU student, Taylor Brant. Spring Break is a great time to catch up on what has been going on over the last few months with family and friends from back home.  It also allows a lot of free time that students don’t usually get while at school.

 While some are heading home, others are off to a warmer location for the week… many are heading south to Florida, the Carolinas, or Georgia, or even all the way to Mexico! Groups of students get together and plan a week-long trip where they plan on just soaking up the sun. My friend, Jansen Baker, is taking off for Mexico with some family members for the week. “I plan on just laying on the beach all day,” said Jansen.

 My friend, Mackenzie Leshe, who is a primary education student here at WIU, is planning on taking a trip to Atlanta, Georgia for the week. She says that she is looking forward to experiencing  all that Atlanta has to offer, and she plans on meeting some old friends down there as well. “I am very excited,” Mackenzie expressed.

 Last year during Spring Break, I did just that. I headed down to Panama City, Florida with a group of friends and spent an entire week soaking up the sun. It was only my second time visiting a beach, so getting to be by the ocean all week and squish the sand between my toes was marvelous. I even got to zip line over the beach! By the end of the week, however, I was ready to head back to good ol’ Illinois.  This year, I will be staying right here in Macomb and working to make some money! I also plan to spend time with family and friends who have come home during their schools’ spring break. I may also catch up on some reading for myself!

 I hope that all students and faculty have a wonderful Spring Break over the next week. I can’t wait to check back in with all of you when we come back later this month! Remember, Think Purple! Go Necks!

2 thoughts on “Spring Break Is Finally Here for WIU Students!

Leave a Reply

